Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

Breastfeeding essentials?

Posted by on Jan. 10, 2013 at 7:54 AM
  • 15 Replies

So as some of you may know I am new to cafe mom as of yesterday. I am also blessed to with my first child! YAY ME!!!happyI recently took a breastfeeding class through my health care provider, but I still was wondering What all I need to buy to make sure I have everything I need the first month of breastfeeding? I was also wondering do I need to buy a pump just in case I get home and I am unable to nurse? Or what about formula if for some reason my breast dry up? In which case what is the best formula to buy? Ahhhhhh I feel so overwhelmed. Please help! Any advice would be greatly appreciated! 

Thanks, 

Ashley 

by on Jan. 10, 2013 at 7:54 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
audmom1218
by Silver Member on Jan. 10, 2013 at 8:09 AM
1 mom liked this
Correct information, Breasts , baby and water. Those are the essentials. (Water is for you to drink by the way, lots of it!)

Look into the books "so that's what they're for" and "the womanly art of breastfeeding".

Most moms that "can't nurse" actually are doing fine but are given horrible advice by doctors. (Inappropriate weight gain requirements, limiting time at the breast, pushing supplements).

Learn what is normal vs not and stick around here and read posts. You'll be surprised at how quickly you'll pick it up.

Also watch for the mods responses. Occasionally moms will post with something that worked for them and mods will address things that aren't best practice advice. We operate in this group based on research and empirical evidence, not anecdotal "it worked for me so it must be ok" type evidence.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
sophiasmommy798
by on Jan. 10, 2013 at 8:24 AM
Ok thank you so much!
KylersMom8-16-7