Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Formula for jaundice- 4 day old baby

Posted by   + Show Post
My sister in law had her ds Monday, she wasn't due until February 14th- her water broke. He's doing well, his blood sugar dipped and there was a slight infection so he was on an iv but that's all cleared up. Well now he's jaundiced so they're supplementing his feeding with formula to get the jaundiced cleared up so that hopefully he can go home tomorrow. I told my mom I wouldn't want them doing formula for fear of messing up her supply this early. But apparently the nurse practitioner has been practicing for 38 years and really know her stuff. (that was her response). I realize I'm not an expert, so maybe they do have to give him formula it just seems strange to me. I'm also irritated with my mom that she said they "had" to do it. She ebf'd 8 kids. Of course, she's also not supportive of my desire to tandem nurse when the baby gets here. Maybe I'm just being hormonal and this is perfectly normal. Lol I just needed to vent a bit.
by on Jan. 17, 2013 at 2:11 PM
Replies (11-20):
crheinheimer
by Member on Jan. 17, 2013 at 3:44 PM
With him still being in the hospital too I doubt they are even questioning anything they're making them do. My sil is only 19 or 20. But you're right WheelerWife, parents are weird! Lol
luna321
by on Jan. 17, 2013 at 4:11 PM

Wow 13? They shouldn't even be concerned, that's a very normal level. All he needs is to nurse nurse nurse and get some sunlight if possible.

maggiemom2000
by Ruby Member on Jan. 17, 2013 at 5:48 PM
4 moms liked this

Two of my babies were jaundiced. The first we just kept an eye on, formula was never mentions, just nurse frequently. The second was a premie and was in the NICU for 6 days. Again, he was tube fed my colostrum/milk while he was learningn to breastfeed, and had to be under the bili lights for a couple of days. Never a drop of formula.