Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

Formula for jaundice- 4 day old baby

Posted by   + Show Post
My sister in law had her ds Monday, she wasn't due until February 14th- her water broke. He's doing well, his blood sugar dipped and there was a slight infection so he was on an iv but that's all cleared up. Well now he's jaundiced so they're supplementing his feeding with formula to get the jaundiced cleared up so that hopefully he can go home tomorrow. I told my mom I wouldn't want them doing formula for fear of messing up her supply this early. But apparently the nurse practitioner has been practicing for 38 years and really know her stuff. (that was her response). I realize I'm not an expert, so maybe they do have to give him formula it just seems strange to me. I'm also irritated with my mom that she said they "had" to do it. She ebf'd 8 kids. Of course, she's also not supportive of my desire to tandem nurse when the baby gets here. Maybe I'm just being hormonal and this is perfectly normal. Lol I just needed to vent a bit.
by on Jan. 17, 2013 at 2:11 PM
Replies (21-30):
JasonsMom2007
by on Jan. 17, 2013 at 7:11 PM

Yeah the risk with jaundice is neurological damage which my son may have from his jaundice.  But his levels dropped dramatically once they put him under lights.  Under 16 doesn't even require treatment besides nursing!  His level hit 27 and he never had formula.

Quoting tabi_cat1023:

Babies dont die from jaundice...not unless its left untreated totally and that would take serious craziness high numbers

Quoting WheelerWife:

My guess is that she's scared. She's afraid of losing her grandson by not trying everything the nurse practioner suggests, regardless of what she really believes.