Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

vent/advice please

Posted by on Jan. 31, 2013 at 12:46 PM
  • 45 Replies
1 mom liked this
Hi, I'm new to breastfeeding and hope to be able to sucessfully breastfeed my dd for as long as possible. I just need some reassurance. My little girl is a week old today and is nursing just about constantly. She will nurse from one breast until she falls asleep then I try to burp her and change her diaper (because she usually has a bowel movement during each feeding) then she will nurse from the other breast ( and possibly have another bowel movement) she has been increasingly fussy the last few days and wants to be on my breast every waking second. I know I'm producing plenty of milk (I actually think I'm producing too much because of how quickly I become engorged and how much I leak and spray) is it possible that my milk isn't filling for her? Like she's eating so much because it doesn't have the right nutrients for her and that's why she needs to nurse so much? Her bowel movements are yellow and curd ish so I know she's getting the right balance of fore milk and hind milk. She was up all night from 12-7 last night and was pretty much on my breast the whole time. I was so tired that I almost gave her a bottle of formula :/ I didn't but I wanted to. I guess I should start keeping a bottle or two of pumped milk in the fridge so that if I'm to that point again ill have an alternative. Any tips, advice, or reassurances will be greatly appreciatted! Thanks in advance
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
by on Jan. 31, 2013 at 12:46 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Momsthename0609
by Bronze Member on Jan. 31, 2013 at 12:52 PM
1 mom liked this
That sounds pretty normal for that age. She is most likely going threw a growth spurt.
conweis
by Member on Jan. 31, 2013 at 12:54 PM