Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

Help!! I don't know what to do!

Posted by on Feb. 28, 2013 at 7:26 AM
  • 11 Replies
I have been breastfeeding for 9 months and proud of that achievement. We had our 9 month check up yesterday and she is 15 lbs that puts her below the 5th percentile. She has been eating solid foods. She has cereal in the morning - 2oz of milk with oatmeal and her usual feed. For lunch she will have fruits or vegetables with her feed. My concern is that she is at daycare and not sure that they are getting her to eat enough. They document a 4oz bottle at 8, 12 and 4.
She is attaining her milestones - pulling to stand, crawling on her belly and getting ready to creep.

I am venting!
My issue is should I express bottle feed to ensure she is getting enough. On the weekends its just breast. Weekdays at nights, just breast. But she is still not sleeping through the night waking up every 4 hrs or so. Sometimes she will put herself back to sleep, other times she will cry and stops as soon as she puts the breast in her mouth. On the occasional night when my husband has her, she will sleep 6 to 7 hrs!!!

Then my daycare provider pissed me off yesterday. Talking about her being small. And not wanting to eat...which is not true. She gets distracted by the older kids playing and wants to play too.
This week they gave her cheese puffs and a cereal bar. When I asked details about the cereal bar...u can get it at the dollar store. I was so mad!
They are asking me to let them introduce stuff which I said ok as long as I know what she is given on a day to day basis and don't introduce anything new sooner than 3 days.

But when I read, I see breastmilk should be the major part of nutrition until 1 year, they are trying to make baby food a bigger part and milk as snacks.

I dunno
I am sorry this is so long.