Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

Newborn wants to nurse for hours on end, normal?

Posted by on Mar. 1, 2013 at 6:08 AM
  • 29 Replies
I had my baby girl on Tuesday. Breast feeding has gone well. She latched in within minutes of being born. She's been going through hours where she just roots around. I'll feed her, make sure she's had plenty and she'll fall asleep at my breast. Then when I go to pull her away or lay her down she will wake up within 10 min and root around again. Is this normal? Is she using my breast as a pacifier? I wouldn't mind it so much except I have a toddler and a house and a hubby to take care of. Plus my nipples are getting raw even with creme. Would it interfere if I introduced a paci? I'm new at breast feeding completely and don't want to ruin what we have.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on Mar. 1, 2013 at 6:08 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
happymom6
by on Mar. 1, 2013 at 7:09 AM
3 moms liked this

Its completely normal !!!

Thats what babies do and that is what establishes the milk supply. MIne did the same thing too.. Everytime I would go to lay her down she would wake up and wang to latch on..

DONT INTRODUCE A PACI !!! Your ss is just getting regulated and introducing one will only mess things up..Just try to take the nipple out as gently as possible so she doesnt wake up..Its hard but its better than introducing a paci and messing with supply.

The sore nipples will go away in a week or so..Keep using the lanoleum and the pain will go away as the baby gets a hang of what shes doing.

You are doing great...

SapphireMomma
by Bronze Member on Mar. 1, 2013 at 7:10 AM
5 moms liked this

Completely. :)  She is getting your breasts used to the fact that you are now supplying nurishment.  It's called "custerfeeding" and "comfort nursing".  My son's record was 12 hours of it.