Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

advice for older infant help

Posted by on Mar. 2, 2013 at 1:20 PM
  • 9 Replies
My sister nursed her kids until 2 and one of hers selfweaned at 26 months. I value her advice but I think she might be giving me bad advice. Help give me good advice please!

I have a 10 month old. Im going back to work. My son eats very very little solids. Sometimes none for days. I nurse about every 3-4 hrs and he still nurses to sleep. My work hours are part time and I'm a nurse. Here's what she said....
"You won't have to pump at work at all. He eats real food and in a couple months he will want real meals. So you don't need an emergency stash of breastmilk. "

My impression was, I need to feed him before I leave and pump on the way. Then 3-4 hours later pump. Then feed when I get back home with him as usual. Even after the age of one ! I figured I'd nurse or give him my milk before any solids. Help me figure out what is a good thing to do.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
by on Mar. 2, 2013 at 1:20 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
LLbaby143
by Bronze Member on Mar. 2, 2013 at 1:22 PM
Oh and I need recommendations on pumps. I have a medela double that's a hand me down from my sister... But its like 5 years old now and I fear the mold issue with it. So any suggestions ?
gdiamante
by Group Mod - Gina on Mar. 2, 2013 at 1:58 PM

Ignore her. You had it right in the first place.

gdiamante
by Group Mod - Gina on Mar. 2, 2013 at 1:58 PM

Ameda purely yours.

MusherMaggie
by Platinum Member on Mar. 2, 2013 at 1:59 PM