Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Extended breastfeeding, I need a lot of help

Posted by on Mar. 5, 2013 at 11:09 AM
  • 10 Replies
Ok, so first some background. I am currently breastfeeding my 33 month old. Yes, he will be 3 in a few months. I have been breastfeeding non-stop for FIVE years because i nursed my other son through my pregnancy and then nursed both boys for seversl months pp. He is my last child and I wanted to be done by now but I didn't count on his extreme attachment to the breast. He nurses A LOT. I'm talking several times during the day AND night and asks for "boobies" all the time. Normally, I would be OK with him self-weaning but its negatively affecting my health. I'm always tired to the point that it's beyond fatigue. I have zero energy and I force myself through every single day. Even as I write this my head is pounding from exhaustion and I am wishing for sleep. I get headaches and dizziness if I do too much and have to lie down. Let me also add I have less than zero sex drive.
Here's another issue, I nursed three others and not nearly this long. Every time I have held on to a lot of weight until I weaned. I was finally able to lose a good 25 pounds about 6 months ago by using progesterone cream and exercising a lot. Which eventually came to a standstill and I couldn't take off the last 10 pounds no matter what I tried. But, since December, not only am I feeling worse as far as fatigue and general health but also I've been steadily gaining weight back despite eating healthy, drinking tons of water and a bit of exercise when I can muster the energy. I even started the progesterone cream again but it's still coming on with vengeance.