Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

Can we talk about oversupply and OALT?

Posted by on Mar. 6, 2013 at 11:22 PM
  • 13 Replies
I think I have been dealing with these issues and not known that either of these could be the problem. None of the women in my family breastfed and I don't have any friends that have breastfed. I feel so happy to have found this site to help give me the help and motivation to keep with it. So how do you know if these are the issues?
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
by on Mar. 6, 2013 at 11:22 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
lulu_tattoos
by Member on Mar. 6, 2013 at 11:35 PM
Ummmm I'm not an expert by any means but I started block feeding when I was having the same issues. I'm sure some of the moms with awesome links will pop in.

I also joined the kellymom FB group, and that was tons of help.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
gdiamante
by Group Mod - Gina on Mar. 6, 2013 at 11:46 PM

Does baby gulp or choke while nursing? If you pump do you get lots of milk in mere seconds? Those are the two major indicators. Block feeding and reclined nursing are the two major tools... the first involves using ONE breast for all feedings for a "block" of time, say three hours. Reclined nursing means you use a seat that lets you lean back, lay baby OVER you so his mouth is on top of the nipple, not under. Gravity does the rest of the work.

We've got a TON of info linked on the resources sticky too.

Sprtam
by on Mar. 7, 2013 at 12:10 AM
Yes, and yes. I've felt as if I'm drowning him at times. I will look more into block feeding. I've already done this without knowing about it because he seems more calm on the same breast after feeding on it once. Thank you.

Quoting gdiamante: