Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

working and pumping....

Posted by on Mar. 17, 2013 at 6:24 PM
  • 37 Replies
I am trying my best to find a job ( i was let got around 22 weeks pregnant because i kept passing out at work) long story short i have a college degree going to waste because i cant find a decent job...but i might be able to get my crappy, waitress job back.

My question is for the moms that have been able to still EBF while working? I know legally i get breaks to pump and a place to do it blah, blah, blah. Realistically i need to know if i can still ebf with only one 15 minute pump break a day. My shift is 7 hours plus an hour to an hour and a half there and back so 8.5 hours with only one pumping...an i going to have to give up bf-ing?
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
by on Mar. 17, 2013 at 6:24 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Cruz-s-mommy
by Amanda on Mar. 17, 2013 at 6:36 PM
1 mom liked this
No, you don't have to give up bfing, I would pump again before heading hone so u get in 2 sessions and then nurse upon arrival. Also its not all or nothing, you can nurse at home and supplement during seperation from baby. Your LO needs about 1 oz per hour u are gone.
larissalarie
by Platinum Member on Mar. 17, 2013 at 6:38 PM
1 mom liked this
First of all, you don't have to go straight from EBF to no BF. There's a huge middle ground :-)

To answer your question, I highly doubt that only one pump break a day will do the job. Most moms need 3 breaks a day for full-time work. *I* was able to make 2 pump breaks work, but I respond easily to a pump and have an oversupply.

Bottom line, pump what you can pump and make up the difference with donor milk or formula. That doesn't mean you don't still strictly BF when you aren't working!