Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

sippy cups?

Posted by on Apr. 2, 2013 at 4:04 PM
  • 9 Replies
Ive been trying to get a hold of my breastfeeding lady (lol) shes helped me a lot anyway shes on maternity leave so ill ask here. My 8 month old only bfs no pumped bottles, pacis nothing. My question is when am i able to give her diluted juice in a sippy cup? I cant remember how old my other children were when they started the sippy cup but 2 of them was before their 1st bday and one of them was after. I should add that none of my other children were breastfed so i am a bfing newbie :-)
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on Apr. 2, 2013 at 4:04 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
Mrz.Anaya
by on Apr. 2, 2013 at 4:10 PM
Bump..
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
HunnyBabie
by on Apr. 2, 2013 at 4:14 PM

BUMP!

MaryJarrett
by Mary on Apr. 2, 2013 at 4:17 PM

I wouldn't give juice, not until after a year. I did, however, introduce a sippy at 4 months (BM only) when I went back to work with my second. I would say that you can do it now with water or breast milk. Apple juice has the same amount of sugar as coke does, so it's not so healthy. We only do it as a very RARE treat here & my girls are almost 3 and 4.5 yrs old, always very diluted. We stick to water. :) 

Mrz.Anaya
by on Apr. 2, 2013 at 4:22 PM
Thank u for helping. I would rather give water or breastmilk i just dont want to take her off the breast too early im trying to bf until shes 2. Is water ok to give her at 8 months or wait until shes 1?

Quoting MaryJarrett: