Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

How much?

Posted by on Apr. 9, 2013 at 3:51 PM
  • 6 Replies
I'm eping, since my daughter isn't able to latch on. I've been told that she only needs 3 oz of breastmilk each feeding, but she seems to want between 4-5 most if her feedings. Am I over feeding her if I let her have that much? She's almost 7 weeks old.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
by on Apr. 9, 2013 at 3:51 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-6):
Pell-Mel
by on Apr. 9, 2013 at 3:57 PM

I am not an expert or health professional, but can tell you my own experience. I have an 11 week old boy. My husband would give him a bottle of my pumped milk here are there when I was out or too sore to feed him off my breast. By 3 weeks, he was wanting 4 oz of pumped milk. I believe it was a growth spurt. He has gotten great reports from Dr. visits - growing well and healthy. My thoughts... if your child is hungry, by all means feed her! Again, just my 2 cents...

HunnyBabie
by on Apr. 9, 2013 at 4:09 PM

I can only tell you about my experience.  I nursed all four of my children on demand (weaning at various ages) and they have always been very healthy and strong.  I've never heard of only feeding them a specific amount; I've always heard they'll eat at least x oz.

gdiamante
by Group Mod - Gina on Apr. 9, 2013 at 5:12 PM
2 moms liked this

The point of feeding a limited amount is more specific to babies who are nursed when mom is there, bottle fed when mom is not. The point there is to make the bottle much less desirable because you make it hard work for little return. The bottle is the slice of wheat toast you grab on the way out the door, the breast is the Dennys Grand Slam Breakfast, you know?

Baby's daily need is 24-30 ounces. For exclusive pumping, mom's choice on how to divvy that up.

wintersdaughter