Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

is breastfeeding suppose to hurt this much?

Posted by on May. 19, 2013 at 8:55 AM
  • 9 Replies

I'm new to breastfeeding. While I was in the hospital with m new baby girl I had to have some help with latching on and I was told I was doing great with i by the time we were ready to go home. Whenever I BF my DD, she'll fed for a few minutes and unlatch herself and I'll relatch so shhe can continue feeding. Every time I feed her there's alot of relatching and each time it hurts for a minute or two, the pain stops until she lets go. I thought I was getting good latches each time. Every time I feed her its painful for me and I've already talked to 3 different LC. I want to BF my baby... I need some advice....

by on May. 19, 2013 at 8:55 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
steffiecox
by Member on May. 19, 2013 at 9:19 AM

BUMP!

bentleyodom
by on May. 19, 2013 at 10:20 AM
1 mom liked this

You want to make sure your baby takes in your whole nipple and areole not just the tip of the nipple. Make sure your baby's lips are puckered out and not over their gums. In the beginning your nipples will be sore. You can use Lansinoh lanolin cream on your nipples after every feeding. This will help with the soreness and it is safe for baby. I hope this helps. Don't give up....it takes time :) breastfeeding is learning for not only you but for your baby as well

kblpooh
by Bronze Member on May. 19, 2013 at 10:24 AM
What does the pain feel like? Does it hurt between feedings? Itch? Could it be thrush? Does baby have white patches in his mouth?
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
KylersMom8-16-7
by Bronze Member on May. 19, 2013 at 11:24 AM