Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding in a Joint Custody Situation

Posted by on Jun. 9, 2013 at 2:01 PM
  • 8 Replies

This is my first time being in a breastfeeding support group, so I did not know a lot about other people's experiences.  I would like to share my experience on here.

I am a single mother of a 6 month old child and I have managed to continue to breastfeed despite working full time and my baby going to his dad's for visitation.  My ex husband did not want to continue being with me (and I'm glad because I can't stand him).  But he does still want to be with my son. 

From reading other threads, many of you on here don't seem to think it's possible for a judge to order a newborn to have overnights with the NCP.  That is not true. It is not recommended, but it happens.  Judges can easily order a breastfeeding mom to pump for dad's visits.  Yes, it is a woman's choice to breastfeed.  But breastfeeding should not interfere with a father's right to parent their child (that's how judges think).  My ex gets one overnight per week outside the home, plus intermittent visits during the week to my home.

From the time my baby was 6 weeks old, I started working full time again.  I worked 37 hours per week, and pumped during that time.  Then I pumped during his dad's visitation.  I was attached to my breastpump. 

When my baby turned 4 months old, something wonderful happened!  I found a job that allowed me weekend work hours!  I thought this was the perfect situation.  So I stay home with the baby during the week.  My ex has him on the weekends while I work.  If you have to have a split situation, that ain't bad.

My ex did try to fight me for primary custody in the beginning, but he lost (because the baby already lived with me and why disturb the only environment an infant knows).  We have joint legal custody with me as the primary custodian.