Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Mothers Milk tea * New to group*

Posted by on Jun. 17, 2013 at 8:37 AM
  • 11 Replies

So I'm new to this group and I'm new to breastfeeding after 5yrs. Any good tips? What does everyone think of mothers milk tea? I used that with both my boys and its amazing. I sent some to my bff in LA but she tried to find more and couldn't. No one has ever heard of this stuff down by her. I learned about it in VA after I had my first son. Any other ideas to try other than the mothers milk tea? 

by on Jun. 17, 2013 at 8:37 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
mostlymaydays
by Group Admin - Stacy on Jun. 17, 2013 at 8:47 AM
What issues is she having?
mostlymaydays
by Group Admin - Stacy on Jun. 17, 2013 at 9:18 AM
Fenugreek and Blessed Thistle are the traditionally recommended supply boosters, the main ingredients in mothers milk teas. Some people just take the herbs in capsule form. The teas can be expensive and you usually need at least 6 cups or so a day, so most boxes only last a few days. If she likes the tea she can buy it online easy enough. All the grocery stores by me sell it in the organic section, as well as all the natural health food stores. By LA I'm assuming you're talking Louisiana, which is one of the states with the lowest breastfeeding rates so I imagine the market for the tea is low.

Is there a reason she thinks she's having supply issues? She may not need any galactogogues. Fussy growth spurts, pushy pediatricians and nagging mothers-in-law can make one question their supply unnecessarily.
MammaKoi
by on Jun. 17, 2013 at 3:43 PM