Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

Comfort Nursing - Driving me CRAZY!

Posted by on Jul. 2, 2013 at 11:34 PM
  • 6 Replies

Hello ladies, I am new to the group but I'm a veteran breastfeeder. I breastfed my first daughter for 18 months which is when I found out I was pregnant with my now newborn second daughter. She is almost 4 weeks old. 

I mainly just need to vent. I love most aspects of breastfeeding and I am not going to give up on it, especially since I know it gets easier down the road. But I can say... I do understand why some women choose to switch to formula.

I have an over-supply which makes things difficult ... it's hard for her to handle the flow (she chokes and swallows lots of air), makes wearing clothes kind of pointless (they get soaked no matter what I do), and I leave horribly cold wet spots wherever I go (why does breastmilk get so freaking cold so fast?!) Fun fun! But, I know it's better than the alternative...not having enough milk. 

My main gripe is my newborn's need to comfort nurse all the time! It seems like I don't get much of a break. When she nurses to actually EAT I love it - it's relieving and feels like I am accomplishing something. When she nurses just to chew and nibble and use me as a human pacifier, it drives me a little crazy. Sometimes a lot crazy. I feel like punching a pillow crazy. It's almost like I am forced to sit/lie there and let her chew on my nipples, which is this horrible itchy/raw sensation. It feels , at times, extremely violating. If I pull her off the boob, she screams so I have to let her. Sometimes this goes on all day long, with  maybe 10-15 minute breaks in between. I feel badly for feeling bad about this, I know she needs the comfort and I want to be that for her. I wish just holding her were enough! Some days are worse than others...