Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

Help! 5 month old won't drink bottle at daycare - just started 2 weeks ago :(

Posted by on Jul. 16, 2013 at 1:21 PM
  • 18 Replies

Hi

I am new to Cafemom but I am needing help!! I have a 5 month old that will not drink from the bottle at daycare. She will nurse perfectly fine in the morning however 3 hours later she struggles to even eat 2oz froma bottle at daycare. I see her at lunch to nurse again and she will nurse great. Then they try to feed her an afternoon bottle and she struggles again to drink 2oz. We worked with bottles at home and my husband can get her to drink 4oz no problem . Wondering what advice I can get to help me with daycare eating problems? She is a healthy 14 lbs 25 1/2 inches long so I am not worried about her losing weight 

by on Jul. 16, 2013 at 1:21 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
jjchick75
by Silver Member on Jul. 16, 2013 at 1:29 PM

Well first off 4oz is not needed. 1 ounce per hour your are gone. 3 ounces every 3 hours seems to work the best. Always with a slow flow nipple and she should be burped after every ounce. My kids never took bottles. Try a sippy cup without the spill proof valve(that's the only thing my kids would take) instead or they can use a syringe or shot glass but I'm sure sippy would be easier for them.  If all they can get her to take is 2 ounces, it's not a big deal. She'll make up for it when you are back together. 

MusherMaggie
by Platinum Member on Jul. 16, 2013 at 1:31 PM