Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

Newborn not pooping *UPDATE*

Posted by on Aug. 28, 2013 at 11:41 PM
  • 27 Replies

My son is 8 days old. He had two dirty diapers in the hosptial and once or twice since being home but is going on 3 days now since he has had a dirty diaper. He is passing gas, having plenty of wet diapers, does not seem upset, and does not have a hard stomach. I know its normal for ebf babies to go longer without pooping but is it normal for a newborn?

We have poop! We went to see the pediatrician this morning for a general check up. I brought up the poop issue and the possible posterior tongue tie. He also checked the baby's weight. He has regained his birth weight plus some (was 9.10lbs and now is 9.15lbs) and will not be 2 weeks till Tuesday). This made me super excited because this is my first time making it this long ebf (not using bottles) and seeing the weight gain go well. Because of that and how content he is the pedi was not concerned about him not pooping saying that it was normal to not go for a few days for ebf babies. (Sure enough as soon as we got home he had a loaded diaper!!) As far as the possible tongue tie, he wanted to wait a few weeks at first saying that he was not concerned since he was gaining weight well but after insisting we will be going to see an ENT Tuesday. The pedi didn't say for sure but said he noticed his tongue was a little crooked. Thanks for all the suggestions and help!
by on Aug. 28, 2013 at 11:41 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Precious333
by Group Mod-Julia on Aug. 28, 2013 at 11:55 PM
http://www.lalecheleague.org/llleaderweb/lv/lvdec97jan98p123.html