Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

Pumping problems-is this normal?

Posted by on Dec. 20, 2013 at 10:59 AM
  • 9 Replies
My baby is 10 months old and I have been pumping at work for 7 months. I pump 3 times while at work. Recently the amount I am pumping is less and less. Was pumping 8-9 ounces/ day. Now I'm lucky if I get 5-6. Just now I pumped NOTHING from one side! Never had that happen before! I am worried because I'm no longer pumping what he is eating while I'm at work. What can I do? I have heard that the amount you pump decreases with time, but this worries me!
by on Dec. 20, 2013 at 10:59 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
isaacsmommy68
by Bronze Member on Dec. 20, 2013 at 11:06 AM

Same thing happened to me at about the same time. It did increase. Not as much as before, but enough for the next day. Drink more water, that seems to help. Try pumping on the weekends too if you can to stash. I pulled frozen for a while until it increased.

stepconfused182
by Kelley on Dec. 20, 2013 at 11:06 AM
Yes, it's normal. At his age, he will be fine with whatever amount you can send, water and solids. This is as long as you give him access to the breast whenever he wants it when you're home. Are you pumping on your off days?
shortyali
by Alicia on Dec. 20, 2013 at 11:22 AM
What kind of pump? If it's the medela pis, you want to check the membranes and see if they need to be replaced. I agree with just sending what you are able to pump each day and solids and baby will make up for it when your home.
KarenM42
by Bronze Member on Dec. 20, 2013 at 1:08 PM
No, I don't pump when I'm home. I just feed on demand.