Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Tired vs. Hungry

Posted by on Jan. 8, 2014 at 9:43 AM
  • 15 Replies

My DD is about 7-weeks old. I'm still learning her cues. She is awake longer during the day, but then sometimes gets overtired (again, still learning her cues). Any help on distinguising between tired and hungry? She moves her tongue a lot when she is sleepy because she wants to be soothed, so sometimes I get confused. I offer the breast, she will nurse for 3 min or so, and then pass out... but will often be doing the same thing in 10 min or so. I know she is getting enough to eat during feedings, so I'm not worried about that. We use a pacifier on a VERY limited basis (mostly because hubby does not have boobs and that he also needs to be able to soothe her and put her to sleep). She will usually just suck on it for 5 seconds, spit it out, and fall asleep (if it works, othertimes she wants nothing to do with it - we do the same thing with our fingers with often the same results). She sleeps well at night, but not much during the day (working on that - hard now because she is having tummy issues and is uncomfortable). I'm just trying to make it easier for her however possible. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks. :)

by on Jan. 8, 2014 at 9:43 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
MusherMaggie
by Ruby Member on Jan. 8, 2014 at 9:50 AM
The discomfort and tummy issues say overactive letdown/oversupply to me. Try reclining to nurse; she goes tummy-to-tummy vertically with you, her mouth over rather than under the nipple. As for sleeping, she only needs so much; mine never did take more than one nap a day after six weeks; they co-slept and nursed at night. Kellymom.com is a good source for information about both of these things.
angelchewning
by on Jan. 8, 2014 at 10:24 AM