Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

Going back to work

Posted by on Jan. 22, 2014 at 5:05 PM
  • 5 Replies

I'm going back to work in about 2 weeks. I pumped frequently right after my son was born (11-24-13) and I was able to get up to 6 ozs at a time for some pumping sessions. I froze all the milk I pumped. I stopped pumping and have been EBF.  I need to start pumping again more regularly since I go back to work February 10.  I have tried pumping a few times over the last few days and I'm barely get 2 oz.  my right side definitely produces more than my left.  I pump for a minimum of 20 minutes. I have the Medela pump in style pump. I work in a school so I'm limited to when I can pump. With my daughter, I pumped on my way to and from work in the car (7 am and 3 pm) and then during my lunch 11:45 ish. I also tried to pump during my prep whenever it happened to fall during the day.  I guess I need some support / suggestions / advice. When my husband fed my son a bottle the other day that was only 2 oz he was looking to eat again in less than an hour. On another occasion, he fed him 4 oz and he lasted his normal 3.5 hours. I'm worried I'm not going to be able to pump enough once I go back to work since I was able to pump 6 oz and now only about 2.

by on Jan. 22, 2014 at 5:05 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-5):
aehanrahan
by Group Mod - Amy on Jan. 22, 2014 at 5:21 PM