Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

working and pumping question

Posted by on Jun. 14, 2014 at 11:32 PM
  • 17 Replies
I.started working again but my shifts are 4-6 hours per work day. I have a double electric pump I use however it doesn't run on batteries, just electrical cord. The restroom has no outlet and that's where I'm allowed to pump so I haven't been pumping for my shifts (4 days of the last 2 weeks). I have twin 4 month olds. Should I talk to my manager about using his office to pump (and essentially kick him out) or will my supply stay up even if I don't pump? I work in a restaurant if that matters.
Update: I.spoke with my manager and I can use the office. :) we employ 63 people at this location.
by on Jun. 14, 2014 at 11:32 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
hismommy2010
by on Jun. 14, 2014 at 11:34 PM
I worked same amount of time while breast feeding. Im the owner of the business. But i think u should bring it up. The bathroom? Eeww Can u even really relax while pumping?
MusherMaggie
by Platinum Member on Jun. 14, 2014 at 11:35 PM
Unless they reverse cycle for you, you will need to pump once if not twice while you are away to maintain supply. Can you get a hand pump?
jazzy411
by Member on Jun. 14, 2014 at 11:44 PM
Probably not. Especially with people constantly coming and going. :/

Quoting hismommy2010: I worked same amount of time while breast feeding. Im the owner of the business. But i think u should bring it up. The bathroom? Eeww Can u even really relax while pumping?
hismommy2010
by on Jun. 14, 2014 at 11:47 PM
Ask for a better option. U could try hand pump but they arent as good, plus if u cant relax where ur pumpn hand pump will be more stress.

Quoting jazzy411: Probably not. Especially with people constantly coming and going. :/