Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

Running out of milk-need advice

Posted by on Jun. 21, 2014 at 11:46 AM
  • 6 Replies

So baby girl is 10 1/2 months old and I have been working full time since she was 2 months old. I was able to pump plenty of milk and built up a freezer stash. When she was 9 months old and began eating more solids at daycare, her milk intake at daycare dropped from 10-12 ounces per day to 3-6 ounces. I cut back on the solids for a bit and she began to take 8-10 oz per day. Also around that time, I decided to drop from 2 pumps a day at work to 1 pump so I could use my freezer stash. For the first month I was able to get 6-8 oz from my single pump session.  Now it is more like 4-5. I plan to keep up my one pump session until she is a year old but I will run out of frozen milk in a couple of weeks and that leaves a month to come up with an alternate milk. I don't want to add another pump session so I see these as my options:

1. Provide formula to make up the difference. (Don't know if she will take it)

2. Provide almond/coconut milk to make up the difference (what I will be offering when she is a year)

3. Provide additional solids and water

She still nurses 6-7 times per day on workdays and of course as often as she wants on the weekends. I don't think she needs the additional milk/formula at daycare for nutrition but she is used to getting 3 small bottles a day while she is there. 

Thoughts? Also, if I go the formula route, should I mix the first few bottles with breast milk to get her used to the taste?

by on Jun. 21, 2014 at 11:46 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-6):
gdiamante
by Group Mod - Gina on Jun. 21, 2014 at 12:01 PM
1 mom liked this

You forgot your fourth option: Add a pump session a day. Doesn't have to be at work, can be at home.