Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

New bf mom!

Posted by on Jul. 30, 2014 at 9:33 PM
  • 6 Replies
Hi everyone! This is my first time on here I am a first time mom and have a 6 week old little boy. I have been bf him from day one and had to pump immediately because he was in the NICU. So I have been nursing him and pumping twice a day (morning and night)....my supply is fine...I am pumping around 8 oz a day. I only give him a bottle at night to make sure he is getting a full amount (4 oz or so) to fall asleep. I do enjoy bf but am starting to get stressed and am thinking about supplementing. My hubby and I want to go away for one night and I'm already stressing thinking if I'll have enough pumped to give him enough bottles for the night and the fact that I'll have to pump while I'm gone. Ugh. Any words of wisdom or thoughts? No judgements please. Again, I'm a first time mom just trying to see what I can do!
by on Jul. 30, 2014 at 9:33 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-6):
Precious333
by Group Admin - Julia on Jul. 30, 2014 at 10:11 PM
Hello mama! Welcome to the group :)

Why are yoy considering supplimenting? What are you stressing about?

My first suggestion is to stop the bottles and pumping as well as bottles. There isnt a need and it can cause nipple confusion, latch issues and flow preferences. If you are away than i recommend paces bottle feedings of no more than 2 ounces. 4 ounces in.a sitting is too.much and will stretch out his tummy.

Second, while your supply is still being establish I would continue nursing on demand and not leave your baby. Wait a bit longer to plan a vacation without your baby, believe me, time flies by so incredibly fast!

Also, waking at night is normal and good. It helps actually prevent SIDS.
mostlymaydays
by Group Admin - Stacy on Jul. 30, 2014 at 10:26 PM