Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

Tired of smelling like sour milk

Posted by on Aug. 14, 2014 at 2:26 PM
  • 15 Replies
Anyone else feel like they always smell like sour milk? My son is six weeks old so I'm still pretty new to breastfeeding. I feel like myself, my clothes, and my sheets always smell like milk! I try to use nursing pads but it seems like when I feed him i always end up getting some on my bra. At night I leak all over my sheets... It makes me feel gross and I don't have time to be changing my sheets everyday. Any advice?
by on Aug. 14, 2014 at 2:26 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
tabi_cat1023
by Group Mod - Tabitha on Aug. 14, 2014 at 2:37 PM

I slept on a towel or on a waterproof pad for a while, one side always leaked during feeds for a while.  I use baby wipes to clean up my chest during the day because I hated that smell too, it was gone by 8-10 weeks for me though

incogNinja
by on Aug. 14, 2014 at 2:38 PM
I was going to say well use nursing pads lol.
I had the same problem with the sheets too. I just started sleeping over a small blanket like a receiving blanket , that way if it got wet I just changed it with another one instead of the whole sheet every time.
Analugojana
by on Aug. 14, 2014 at 3:47 PM
It's going to get better. Formula smells way worse. spit up formula is gross. And when you're done with leaking and start solids you'll stay changing real poop. Parenthood stinks :) Kidding. (((Hugs)))
KiKi-Love
by Member on Aug. 14, 2014 at 4:13 PM
I use nursing pads. It helps!
AngryBob
by on Aug. 14, 2014 at 5:46 PM

i always got that same smell when my kids were newborns!! it drove me nuts!!! weird thing is, i'd ask dh, who has a really good nose, and he'd say he didn't smell anything. but i kept smelling it, so i know it wasn't in my head.