Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

No breast milk?

Posted by on Aug. 16, 2014 at 12:10 AM
  • 16 Replies

I might be induced on tuesday at 37 weeks. my question is, i dont see breast milk forming yet? i know they say you get colestrum or what ever it is spelt first, but I dont see anything coming out yet? There is slightly dry white flakes that if i scratch my nipple come out. but not liquid? not breast milk? will i be able to feed my baby? im new to this...

by on Aug. 16, 2014 at 12:10 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
mommy2boys03
by Member on Aug. 16, 2014 at 12:14 AM
1 mom liked this

I never had anything before either of my boys came but had what they needed when they were born.  Oh and since this is your first time don't be surprised if when your milk comes in if your baby wants to be at your breast all night.  No one warned me with my oldest and I thought there was something wrong and I was starving him.  Thankfully the hospital called for a follow up and the lactation consultant told me what was going on.

LittleRed80
by Bronze Member on Aug. 16, 2014 at 12:15 AM
1 mom liked this
It takes a few days after birth before your milk comes in. The most important thing is to put your baby to the breast as soon as you can after birth and as often as you can. And don't give them any formula in the hospital! Their tummies are tiny- the size of a marble. They don't need but a few drops at a time. In the mean time, get yourself a book. I love "The womanly art of breastfeeding"
mostlymaydays
by Group Mod-Stacy on Aug. 16, 2014 at 12:16 AM