Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

questions on breastfeeding

Posted by on Feb. 23, 2015 at 8:52 AM
  • 18 Replies
So, baby Emily will be here in 12 short weeks according to my due date. I honestly can not believe how fast this pregnancy has gone! Now with my first two children, I didn't breastfeed. I formula fed from day 1. This baby I decided to BF. But being a complete BF newb, I have a few questions.

1. How do I know if I'm producing enough milk? What do I do if I'm not?

2. I bought a nursing cover from udder covers, do they work well? Are they too hot in summer?

3. If I pump, which bottles are best for not causing nipple confusion?

4. When did you start baby on solids? I know I started my ff babies at 4 months. I read 6 for bf.

5. Any books or websites you can recommend that will be helpful learning tools?

6. How do I know if the baby has allergies?

Thanks ladies!!!
by on Feb. 23, 2015 at 8:52 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
glen11
by New Member on Feb. 23, 2015 at 9:19 AM
1 mom liked this
Congratulations on the baby and decision to breastfeed, it will be hard work at first but well worth it.

1. Wet and pooppy diapers will be your best guide. Remember that pumping is not a good indication of what baby is getting...baby is much more effective at extraction. Breastfeed...breastfeed ...breastfeed to establish a good supply, drink lots of water , relax and eat oatmeal.

2. I bought an Eddie Bauer one that I love, but it gets hot under any cover.

3. We used the avent naturals worked well for when I was at work, just remember to latch baby when together.

4.We followed baby's cue on this, we started at 7 months.

5. Kelly mom's website and lecheleague are awesome.

6. Bloody stools are a good indication of allergy.