Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Spitting up

Posted by on Jun. 17, 2017 at 1:17 AM
  • 14 Replies

Mobile Photo

My twins turned 1 month yesterday and are EBF but they are spitting up a lot lately. My girls before them almost never spit up so I'm new to this. They don't nurse long at all or that often and I have OAL and oversupply which I know is half the battle. I try incline and block feeding and it helps some but not much.

They will nurse, do a huge burp and then spit up. Lots of time it just dribbles out and sometimes several times after a feed. But they are growing great! Actually above the curve. A started at 6.10, dropped to 5.15 and was 7.4 at 2 weeks. Right now I'm guessing he is 8lbs+. Baby B was 5.10, dropped to 5.2 and was 6.3 at 2 weeks.

Should I be concerned? Any other tips to try? They do get gassy and fussy randomly then will burp/spit up and then be happy again.

Pic is them in milk coma after tandem nursing.
by on Jun. 17, 2017 at 1:17 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
mostlymaydays
by Group Admin - Stacy on Jun. 17, 2017 at 1:30 AM
1 mom liked this
I think the spit up is just from your OAL. Boy, they'd let you know if they were uncomfortable. Stellar weight gain! And ebf twins, no less!!! I'd just put bibs on them all the time so you only have to change their clothes half as often. Same for your clothes. 2 of my kids were profuse spitter uppers, but happy and overachieving with the weight. Keep up the reclined feeding, and hopefully they just get better about keeping it down, or your supply tames down.
Careeka22
by Bronze Member on Jun. 17, 2017 at 1:46 AM
Thank you! I'm hoping it's just the OAL and will improve as they grow and I regulate. They are also my smallest babies so I figured that has a lot to do with it. I just pray it's not an allergy, after being on a strict diet for GD I'm so enjoying food again lol.