Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

Help! My 3 month old still wants to nurse all the time.

Posted by on Jul. 18, 2007 at 4:28 PM
  • 13 Replies
I'm new to cafe mom.  I'm glad I discovered this because you ladies seem like a bunch of really great moms!  I need your help.  My 3 month 1 wk old wants to eat all the time.  She is gaining weight really well-averaging 2-3 lbs a month so far.  She has plenty of poos and pees, but is always on the breast.  I'm not sure if she is really hungry or is just doing this for comfort or maybe she likes taking small meals?  I know babies have growth spurts around 2, 6 wks and 3 months,  but she has always done this.  She nurses on one side actively for about 15 minutes.   Then I offer her the 2nd side after a good burp and she is usually not interested.  A typical session goes like this:  Nurses for roughly 15 minutes then dozes off on the breast.  She then wakes up 20-30 minutes later to be hungry again.  The cycle continues all day.  Sometimes I get lucky and she'll nap for 1-11/2 hour.  To put it in a nut shell, she eats every 30minutes to every 1 1/2 hour.  Thanks in advance!!!!
by on Jul. 18, 2007 at 4:28 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Krissykins
by on Jul. 18, 2007 at 4:33 PM

Are you sure she's crying because she's hungry? Have you tried giving her a pacifier to suck on? She may just want more sucking time because it's soothing to her.

Also, when she dozes off have while feeding do you wake her up to keep eating? If not, try rubbing her head or feet to wake her to finish eating. Also, with my daughter if I don't burp her thoroughally (2 to 3 good burps) she doesn't want to continue eating. Make sure she's got all the air out of her tummy so that she can put some more food in there!