Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

Is it me or the pump? (kinda long, sorry)

Posted by on Sep. 17, 2009 at 9:15 PM
  • 9 Replies

A little bit of history...

A few weeks after my son was born I had to return to my college classes. I was pumping about 3-4 times during the 6-8 hours I was gone so that my SIL could feed him. I was getting about 4-6oz each time I pumped. Then due to my externship I was only able to pump once MAYBE twice a day and I was still getting about 6oz each time. His appetite increased so my SIL was also having to supplement formula. I graduated in June and decided to stay home with him for a little while to catch up on the time missed. I never really produced enough extra to pump but I did BF exclusively.

Now, I may have to go back to work and he will not take formula. So I want to pump when I can so he will still have some milk for when I am gone.

The problem is that even when I'm full, I'm never able to pump much at all. I've tried first thing in the morning when milk supply is higher but I don't get much. My breast can be hard and lumpy (that's how I know it's full) but it doesn't make a difference. I'm lucky if I get 1/2oz at a time. I know I've read that you only need to pump 1oz for every hour you're gone but when I get back to work (in a medical office) I will probably not be able to pump but once during my lunch break.

What I need to know is it a problem with me or is there something wrong with my pump. I never had that problem before. It does kinda feel like the suction isn't as strong as it once was but I figured I may have just gotten used to it. I don't want to not be able to pump enough for him and I don't want to stop BF completely. I really don't know what the problem is... any ideas and advice is greatly appreciated.

by on Sep. 17, 2009 at 9:15 PM
Add your quick reply below: