Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

frozen strawberries....

Posted by on Jun. 26, 2010 at 5:11 PM
  • 10 Replies
  • 394 Total Views

i was wanting to try and make homemade strawberry jam. i found a recipe online "freezer jam" it looks easy enough but i was wondering can i use the strawberries  after i've already put them in the freezer? can i thaw them then make the jam? will it be okay or will this make it taste funny or not work at all?

i am new at this. I have never canned anything before

by on Jun. 26, 2010 at 5:11 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
michiganmom116
by on Jun. 26, 2010 at 5:14 PM

I've made jam using frozen berries.  Thaw them and drain them a bit first, but don't squeeze all the liquid out.  If the berries were sweetened, you'll have to adjust the sugar.

londamg
by on Jun. 26, 2010 at 5:20 PM

nothing was added to them i just washed them and took the tops off then placed them in freezer bags. we did this yesterday after picking them.

michiganmom116
by on Jun. 26, 2010 at 5:22 PM

Cool!  That's what I was doing yesterday too!

Just let them thaw, crush them, and make your jam according to the recipe!

Quoting londamg:

nothing was added to them i just washed them and took the tops off then placed them in freezer bags. we did this yesterday after picking them.

londamg
by on Jun. 26, 2010 at 5:33 PM

thank you! i wasnt sure. i had to freese them because i didnt want them to go bad. and i hadnt really planned on making jam until today. a lady at church was talking about how she loves freezer ja and how easy it was. i had never heard of it before.so i looked it up and it sounds easy,so we'll see. i always thought making jams or jellies that you had to use a presser canning thing lol

michiganmom116
by on Jun. 26, 2010 at 5:55 PM