Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Using your pressure canner

Posted by on Feb. 28, 2015 at 2:24 AM
  • 1 Replies
  • 236 Total Views
What steps do you take? I'm new to this but have done a few batches. My instructions say to turn my stove to high till the steam has been blasting out for 10 minutes then put my weight on and turn it down. The first time I did this my little weight did it's rocking thing and all went well. But since that first time my weight doesn't do the rocking thing anymore so I just do as I did the first time and turn it down and start the time. Plus all my batches come out with 2-3 inches less water in the jars so the top few inches look dry. I don't have the gauge just the weight and there seems to be to much guess work. Water bath is so much easier.
by on Feb. 28, 2015 at 2:24 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-1):
beckolette
by New Member on Oct. 19, 2016 at 10:38 AM

You loose water due to 'not tight enough" rings.

Not getting all air bubbles out of contents. You really have to get aggressive with things. Just be sure to use plastic or wooden to do this. Metal can scratch or damage the inside of the glass. I use the handle of a wooden spoon. Push down in the middle too.