Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Toddler and baby sharing a room... PIOG for opinions!

Posted by on Oct. 12, 2009 at 2:15 PM
  • 17 Replies

My son will be 18 months old in 2 weeks and I am due any day with his brother. They will be sharing a room (eventually). I was just wondering, when would be the smartest time to put them both in there together? My toddler isn't the greatest with change and I dont want him to feel like his space is invaded. I also dont want the baby waking him up a million times at night. On the other hand I dont want the baby to get used to sleeping elsewhere and having a hard time adjusting to the new room either. I'm thinking of doing the baby's naps in there to get him used to it, but not sure if that will be enough.

Im not going to lie, I am concerned about me getting as much sleep as possible too because I am a full time college student with a TON of stuff on my plate and I am only taking a week off with baby, so I want to be as rested as possible.

Have any of you moms had this room sharing issue? How did it go? Is there anything you wish you would have done differently? Any other advice? Thanks ladies

by on Oct. 12, 2009 at 2:15 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Gabeys_Mommy
by Member on Oct. 12, 2009 at 2:18 PM

I haven't been in this situation and thankfully we have 3 bedrooms so this baby won't have to share with my son.

I personally know how much of a bear my son can be when he misses out on sleep, so I wouldn't put the baby in with him until the baby was sleeping completely through the night.

baby1love
by on Oct. 12, 2009 at 2:23 PM