Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The Cafe The Cafe

my puppy is driving me nuts, help!

Posted by on Oct. 16, 2012 at 7:38 AM
  • 12 Replies

I have a 13 week old alapaha blueblood bulldog, he is a great dog, already pretty much house trained. gets along great with the kids. Only problem I have is he is always snatching my kids food right out of their hands! This is my first dog so I am not very experienced with training dogs. How do I teach him to stop? 

by on Oct. 16, 2012 at 7:38 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
momto3B
by Bronze Member on Oct. 16, 2012 at 7:50 AM

Go on YouTube and search whatever behavior you want to correct. You will not only get the explaination but, the visual. Addiionally, national kennel chains often have free puppy classes. The goal is to get you to pay for round 2 but you do not have to. 

Whatever method you choose, get your puppy trained now before a child gets bitten while he is trying to access food or he becomes territorial about food. 

Acid
by on Oct. 16, 2012 at 7:59 AM

Have the puppy crated while everyone is eating...solves the problem.

DO NOT hit, scream, beat, smack, whack with a rolled up newspaper,  or punch the dog.

If you do not have a crate; First, never, ever leave children and dog alone together, that's just asking for trouble.  When the kids are eating and the puppy is with them...have the dog on a long leash.  If he even looks as if he's going to snatch the food pull upward ONCE on his collar and say NO.  Use a firm voice but not an overly loud voice.

Keep doing this as long as it takes him to register that he's not allowed to do that.

Mrs.Kubalabuku
by on Oct. 16, 2012 at 8:10 AM

Hit the nail on the head.