Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The Cafe The Cafe

Anyone here NOT on welfare?

Posted by Anonymous   + Show Post

And food stamps? Pease share how you got out of your situation and moved on up like George Jefferson.

Posted by Anonymous on Jan. 22, 2013 at 6:37 PM
Replies (31-40):
lovemyirish
by Corinne on Jan. 22, 2013 at 10:34 PM
I'm not. I'm a single mom. I am a manager of a retail store so j make salary.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Anonymous
by Anonymous on Jan. 22, 2013 at 11:28 PM
13 moms liked this

I was 18 when I got pregnant with my son. My then-boyfriend and I had been friends for years before we started dating, but once we got pregnant he left. Quickly. I was in college full time and working part time until my son was born, when I had to stop working because I couldn't afford daycare and no one would take him that young, anyway. I brought him to class with me as a newborn so that I could keep attending college. I remember lugging his carseat all over campus, breastfeeding in the back of lecture halls, and my very understanding small-class professors who even went so far as to comfort my fussy baby in the hallway so I could finish my finals.

My son's birth father all but disappeared when we found I was pregnant. He joined the Army "to help me support the baby" but then had his parents hire attorneys that always managed to get him out of having to show up for court for child support hearings. My career path was a long one at the time, and I couldn't find a job that would allow me to be self sufficient in the meantime, so I gave up that dream and decided to go to nursing school. I got on Medicaid and WIC for help in the meantime, gave up my free-ride scholarship to the college of my choice, and moved back in with my parents.