Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The Cafe The Cafe

on a cooking strike! UPDATE!

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 31 Replies
My dh has an infuriating habit of being very critical about my cooking. He will hover over my shoulder while I cook and tell me what I should be doing differently, then he will usually have some negative comment about what I've cooked. He's even been known to dump his plate of food in the trash and make himself a sandwich. It's not that I'm a bad cook. Nobody I've ever cooked for has ever disliked my cooking except him,(well, my x's sister, but that's another story). Even my kids like my cooking, and believe me they'd say so if they didn't. Dh's tastes just tend to run in the direction of cheap, deep fried, spicy and highly processed, whereas I've made it my mission in life to master healthy gourmet cooking. I usually get raves.

I keep thinking I would just quit cooking for him, but I have to cook for the kids, anyway, so it's not like I'm going to tell him he can't have any. The kids are at their dad's this weekend, though, and dh was making his usual commentary at dinner last night, so I told him I'm not cooking all weekend, and I mean it. Now he's asking me what's for dinner. HA! Whatever you scrounge up, honey, and no, I'm not getting up and
making breakfast tomorrow, (or lunch or dinner)!, either.

UPDATE! This morning dh woke me up, having already made breakfast, himself. The biscuts and bacon were burned, and he used an entire stick of butter to fry two eggs, but unlike him i ate it and thanked him for going to the trouble. Then he asked me later what i was making for lunch and i told him nothing, i'm not cooking this weekend. He says, ''But i cooked breakfast!''i said oh weel, still not cookin. Now he's heated up a frozen pizza for lunch, but i already had a diet shake and a bananna. r.
Posted by Anonymous on Apr. 27, 2013 at 4:12 PM
Add your quick reply below: