Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The Cafe The Cafe

female firefighter : ask me anything

Posted by on Apr. 29, 2013 at 8:56 AM
  • 46 Replies
I have been a female firefighter for 5 yrs in a large city. I love my job. Pay is ok. Benefits are great. We are now like most major cities going through a budget crisis so I have gotten insecure for 2nd time. We operate a ambulance/ fire-rescue/ and 2 engine units. My DH encouraged me to pursue my dream and I did
by on Apr. 29, 2013 at 8:56 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
angieo39
by on Apr. 29, 2013 at 8:59 AM
I am at work and will answer as soon as I can..never know what happens next!
TimetoMomUp
by on Apr. 29, 2013 at 9:28 AM

My Aunt is a firefighter too.  Women firefighters rock!  Is there a way for me to introduce my children to firefighters?  Would it considered rude to drop off cookies?

Are you ever discriminated against because you are female by your coworkers?

GertieK
by Silver Member on Apr. 29, 2013 at 9:57 AM

I have been a volunteer firefighter/Paramedic since 1993.  Not as active as I used to be, because I do work two jobs, but still carry my radio and respond whenever possible.  Do an occiasion shift for EMS when they need someone to fill in.  I am currently the S--T magnet.  I am sure you understand what I am talking about!  It is a really demanding job, and your husband being supportive is awesome.  Unless you are drawn to that kind of work, it is hard to convey how deeply it permeates your life.  Keep going strong, and you rock!

angieo39
by on Apr. 29, 2013 at 11:05 AM
We are user friendly to public. We have family day once a week for our families and this time of year. We have a bay open and at least one truck on concrete apron. Stop buy and I don't know of any here that dosent welcome stuff like you suggest

Quoting TimetoMomUp: