Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The Cafe The Cafe

Could you deliver a baby?

Posted by on Jun. 21, 2013 at 11:31 PM
  • 25 Replies

If your pregnant friend went into labor and it was no way of getting her to a hospital could you deliver her baby or would you freak out?

by on Jun. 21, 2013 at 11:31 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous on Jun. 21, 2013 at 11:33 PM
1 mom liked this
I have before, in an emergent situation in the ER of a hospital that didn't have an OB/L&D.
MillieJ
by on Jun. 21, 2013 at 11:35 PM

I think I could :)

MrsApple
by Bronze Member on Jun. 21, 2013 at 11:36 PM

Yes.I know what is suppose to be done.In fact,I wanted to be a midwife.Would LOVE to deliver babies :)

GertieK
by Silver Member on Jun. 22, 2013 at 10:52 AM

Yes.  Of course, I AM a midwife.  Births that happen that fast generally have little time for something to go wrong.  Just make sure the baby doesn't hit the floor, and allow him/her to nurse asap.  The body really does do well all on its own!

atlmom2
by Susie on Jun. 22, 2013 at 11:22 AM

I am a medical assistant so I hope I could. 

Come join me at The Duggars Debate, The Good, The Bad and the Ugly

KimmieLu
by on Jun. 22, 2013 at 11:43 AM
2 moms liked this
I could if the mom could. If she started flipping out, Id probably have to lovingly give my BFF a slap to the face and tell her to get her mess together and just do it.
Anonymous
by Anonymous on Jun. 22, 2013 at 2:01 PM

I could. It's not like giving birth is an unnatural thing that requires lots of high-tech instruments. Lots of women have their babies at home and some of them unnassisted. It's a matter of trusting your body. I had my four children at home with my husband and a midwife. I find the midwife career to be very fasinating and think it would be a great job.

polkaspots
by Bronze Member on Jun. 22, 2013 at 2:10 PM