Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The Cafe The Cafe

Resume Question...Teacher

Posted by on Mar. 26, 2014 at 10:01 AM
  • 7 Replies
Hi. I'm a certified secondary English teacher currently seeking a teaching job. The last school where I taught was a nightmare! My academic coordinator was so mean, criticized everything I did, and just seemed like she was out to get me from the very beginning. Needless to say, my contract wasn't renewed. That has never happened to me before.
Prior to this last job, I had NEVER had any problems with my teaching career. I was previously nominated "Teacher of the year", I held numerous committee positions, and I was even a mentor teacher.
My question is whether or not I should include that school/school principal on my current résumé??
by on Mar. 26, 2014 at 10:01 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-7):
mom_dl6
by on Mar. 26, 2014 at 1:51 PM
1 mom liked this

I've NEVER done a resume so i have zero clue.  Good Luck BUMP !

Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 on Mar. 26, 2014 at 2:34 PM
1 mom liked this

The problems, no.  Teacher of the year, yes. 

NDADanceMom
by on Mar. 26, 2014 at 3:22 PM
1 mom liked this

You will have to.  the state records where you are using your license anyway.  DOnt worry.  It happens to all of us.  Be honest as to why your supervisor didnt like you.  For me, I am a teacher that teaches with thematic units and uses whole language.  The principal wanted everyone to teach straight from the curriculum guides.  I tried to find a happy medium but it was never good enough.  I was let go after 2 terrible years.  Im now teaching with my style and very happy. 

Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Mar. 26, 2014 at 3:42 PM
2 moms liked this