Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The Cafe The Cafe

Am I selfish because I like my job? *edited*

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 43 Replies

*Edit* My thinking is, 'if Mama ain't happy, ain't nobody happy', lol.   If I quit my job, I will probably NOT be very happy.  If I try to find a new job, I will most likely start at the bottom again making minimum wage...would it be worth it?  Most likely not.  I don't have a college education except for an associate's degree in graphic design...now, when looking for graphic design jobs, you need a bachelors.  I don't think I'm very good at it anyway which is why I never persued it... I like to do projects for people but that's about the extent of it.  I like my retail job and all the people that go along with it and I've been working with a lot of these people for many years.

I work in retail.  I've worked in retail since I was 16 (1986).  I manage a small store currently and I typically work a 44 hour work week.  Sometimes I end up working a couple more hours than that because a job needs to get done.  I've been at my current job for around 20 years.

I have three children ages 23, 18, and 16.  My husband and my three children hate my job and they say it takes me away too much from them; especially during the holiday season where my work week can jump up to about 50+ hours a week.  

My husband works a job where he starts at 4 in the morning and is home around 3-4 o'clock in the afternoon.  And he has a better income than I do.  Being that a store is open from 10-9 daily, my hours are much different and yes, I am gone a good chunk of the day... but I get 2 days off a week, just like him. And I do get most Sundays off.