Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The Cafe The Cafe

It’s NOT a Compliment to tell me I look so Young

Posted by on Aug. 4, 2014 at 2:40 PM
  • 133 Replies
1 mom liked this

I was in the store shopping for back to school supplies and a lady walked by with her two kids.  She asked me if I was a teacher.  I said no.  She said, "Oh, I thought you were because you didn't have your kids with you.  What grade are your kids in?"

I said I have one going into 3rd grade and one going into 11th grade.

"11th grade!"  She said, "WOW, you look SO young!"

I know she meant it as a complement but it's still annoying to hear it for the 300th time.  Like, do people think I don't know what I look like?  Do they think they're just telling me something I've never heard before? 

But I just said "Yeah, I get that a lot".  She didn't say anything, I bet she probably thought I was going to say "Gee THANKS!" but no, it is NOT a complement to tell me I look so young when it causes such problems in my life.  I'm 37 years old and want to be taken seriously.

It's NOT fun having to beg for help in the department store because the ladies that work there think you are too young to have any money.

It's NOT fun trying to talk to the school administrators about issues concerning your daughter and not being taken seriously.

It's NOT fun when you've taken your daughter to the doctor and he asks "And who are you?"

It's NOT fun when you're walking to work and someone says "Uh, is school out today?" or when the guy at the gym hassles you because he doesn't think you're old enough to have a membership.