Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

1st grade teachers!

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 14 Replies

Hi

I'm new to the whole school thing, my dd is going to 1st grade.

They left summer homework, we already did it; the reading homework was to read a book and write a different beginning and ending, summarize and write other things, there are a lot of things that she still writes like they sound to her.

My question is, am I supposed to correct those words so it's cright or leave her mistake for the teacher?.

This is going to be fun, all learning.

Ps. I did not grow up here in America, so my school experience is way different.

Thank you for your help and guidance.

Posted by Anonymous on Aug. 13, 2014 at 12:10 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Aug. 13, 2014 at 12:18 PM

You should leave it as is so the teacher can see her own writing without correcting the errors. 

Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on Aug. 13, 2014 at 12:22 PM

Thanks, that is what I thought, but you see so many teachers complaining that kids don't get the help from parents at home, that is hard to know anymore the right way, especially, without experience :)

Quoting Anonymous:

You should leave it as is so the teacher can see her own writing without correcting the errors. 

lapcounter
by Gold Member on Aug. 13, 2014 at 12:22 PM
WOW you had summer homework? I have never heard of that.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on Aug. 13, 2014 at 12:35 PM

yup, and it's our first year in this school.