Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

what should I do?

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 7 Replies
I'm a single mom of two boys that are 11 and 8. I'm in school full time finishing up my pre reqs for nursing school/ courses towards my bachelor's degree and I'm studying for the entrance exam. This semester I'm taking microbiology, sociology, history 1302 and technical writing.
I need to work. The problem is I lost my father on Christmas Eve last year and he was my only family member here. My ex husband will watch the kids overnight if I get an overnight job.
Yesterday I got a job offer at a great company and I was told that I can be trained for higher pay if I pass an exam after they train me. I really want to work at this company, but I'll be working nights from 10-6 and then I'll be in school from 9 to noon. My kids go to school from 7:15-2:55 & 8:40-4:30. I am worried that my grades will suffer because I won't have much time to sleep or study.
I'm waiting for an emAil to about the position. I told the woman that I interviewed that I'm on school and I prefer working double weekends or nights. Should I ask if I can work part time or should I just keep on looking for another job?
Posted by Anonymous on Aug. 18, 2017 at 10:58 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-7):
BL2010
by BL on Aug. 18, 2017 at 11:44 AM

Hmm, when you originally applied for this job what hours did you tell them you could work?

Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 - Original Poster on Aug. 18, 2017 at 1:47 PM
I told them that I prefer weekend double shifts or part time nights. She said that she wants to have me full time.

Quoting BL2010:

Hmm, when you originally applied for this job what hours did you tell them you could work?

Thought
by on Aug. 19, 2017 at 9:32 AM
1 mom liked this