Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Teachers or Homeschooling moms

Posted by on Jan. 21, 2009 at 7:53 AM
  • 13 Replies

How can I teach my son to read? He's behind in school and I've given up on the teacher there, with 29 students I think the one's who are behind just get left behind, so how can I teach him to catch him up?

by on Jan. 21, 2009 at 7:53 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
shelia3
by on Jan. 21, 2009 at 7:56 AM

I am in the same boat with my son, so I hope there will be some replies, good luck.

atlmom2
by Susie on Jan. 21, 2009 at 7:59 AM

Hooked on Phonics.  It does work. 

buppyluck
by on Jan. 21, 2009 at 8:05 AM

Well I would love tell you it is going to be easy but it won't be, I am a Secondary school teacher (middle school/hs) but I am working on my MA in Special Ed, and quite a few of my kids cannot read. First a few questions, how old is your son? Why is he not reading? Is it lack of attention (either on his part or on the teacher's part) or can he just not read? Have you talked to his teacher about it? They might be overwhelmed (and it sounds like this is the case) but go and ask what kinds of things can they suggest to help him, this would be my first suggestion, that way you know exactly where he is at and don't waste time teaching him things he already knows. From there you will be able to start teaching him, your best bet is something like hooked on phonics (kind of pricey, but well worth the money)

Here are a few websites that are EXTREMELY helpful!

http://www.succeedtoread.com/

http://www.hookedonphonics.com/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductID=207

this one is a book: http://www.amazon.com/Teach-Your-Child-Read-Lessons/dp/0671631985