Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

My Mom Cave - Living Room

Posted by on Sep. 28, 2010 at 2:10 PM
  • 14 Replies
  • 544 Total Views

Note: I wasn't sure if we were suppose to post our end results in the Mom Cave thread or create a new post, so I'm doing both)

I finished my HomeGoods mom cave yesterday and I’m really happy with how much nicer my living room feels. I’m sitting in here now and it feels so much more comfy and relaxing.  I’ve never done anthing like this before and it was a lot harder than I anticipated (mainly because of the pressure of so many people seeing my final outcome) but I had a lot of fun.

I spend my personal time reading and CafeMomming (that is a verb, isn’t it?) in either my living room or my bedroom because they are quiet rooms but at the same time they are also very boring rooms, desperately in need of some decorating.  I really didn't know which room to go with so I decided to pre-shop and select a favorite piece for my living room and for my bedroom. Then I would choose my room based on the inspiration piece that I liked the most.  Almost immediately I found a large, bold, floral canvas that I liked for my living room, and I found two lamps that I loved for my bedroom. (see pictures) I decided to think about it for a few days while I waited for my card to arrive, but during that time I was really leaning towards making my bedroom my Mom Cave, but…

When I want to buy the lamps I found a beautiful Jacobean rug that beckoned to me from across the store. It was nearly identical to a rug that I fell in love with last year (that I wanted to buy), but it was HALF THE PRICE!  Time to change my design plan and room because that rug came home with me.  The large, floral print that I liked - the one that would have been my living room inspirational piece - was too bold for the rug, but I found the same print in a smaller size and I got that one instead.