Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Trouble w/ Fire department & want to be a Paramedic

Posted by on Jul. 29, 2007 at 4:25 PM
  • 5 Replies
  • 269 Total Views
Hey ladies...I am currently an EMT-Basic right now.  I have been for a few years.  I've only worked as a volunteer in a small town.  So I probably don't have quite the experience a big town medic might have.  But I do love being an EMT.  I'm waiting on our technology center to host another Paramedic class.  You only have to be a basic to enroll.  The bad thing is it's only 2 nights a week.  So it will take at least a year and a half or 2 to finish.  This is something I really want to do.  I'm just wondering for those of you who are in or have taken the class ...what is it like and what should I expect?  I'm a fast learner.  My hubby teaches up to the Intermediate level.  So I'm going to have him help me.  I wanted to take the Intermediate but the Paramedic only comes along every 2 years and there are no Intermediate classes before it.   Also we just moved back to my hometown of about 10,000.  The fire department here runs the ambulance service and there are absolutely NO females on the department.  I've know all the guys up there forever...but I'm having a hard time getting on the EMS side because I am a female.  This is what some of the guys have told me.  I am so frustrated!  Since when does me being a woman decide if I get hired or not?  I don't want to be the type to make a big deal about it.  But they can't say I'm not qualified b/c 3/4 of the guys there have been EMT's just as long as I have and the rest have just become EMT's.  Fire department just took over EMS a few years ago.  The city made the fireman become EMT"s to save money.  So I figured that they'd like a break and let someone who wants to take call do it.  A lot of the guys say they don't care.  But the cheif is the one pussyfooting around about it.  What would you ladies