Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Newbie here!

Posted by on Nov. 11, 2008 at 2:58 PM
  • 4 Replies
  • 210 Total Views

Hi all, my name is Rosie.  I will be 32 this month and was just diagnosed with RA about a month ago.  I have two daughters, ages 7 and 4 and I am a single mom. 

I have been dealing with the pain in my joints for years, was told I have gout at one point, tendonitits, bursitis... you name it...  and then since nothing came up on blood tests, I was told some people's joints just hurt....  I spent five years believing that, even though I was in horrible pain every day.   Recently I had an MRI done on my spine for a ruptured disc I have and the sciatica pain I also deal with.  My doctor asked me if I had ever seen a rheumatologist and I told him no.  He said I have damage all up and down my spine, so he gave me a referral.  My rheumatologist did all the blood tests but also took xrays of my hands and feet.  These showed joint damage as well. 

This was kind of a vindication for me....  I had started to feel crazy almost!!!  I thought, man I don't see anyone else my age going through the pain I go through....  except for my cousin that is, who has EVERY SINGLE symptom that I do...   I mean I hurt somewhere ALL the time...  I started to wonder if I just feel pain worse than other people...  I even began to wonder if it was all in my head!! lol  So when they finally put a name to it, it half way made me feel better, but the other half of me is horrified to think that this is never going away, and I could be deformed someday!!!!  

The dr. put me on sulfasalazine, but I found out really quick I was allergic to that.  Now she prescribed me something that starts with Meta or Metha.  I haven't picked up the prescription yet cause I have had a cold and couldn't start it while sick.