Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Kindergarten Newbie...any ideas?

Posted by on Feb. 20, 2011 at 10:01 PM
  • 9 Replies

My ds will be starting kindergarten this fall and we are "shopping" for the perfect school for him..What should I look for in a school? Class sizes? Specialized courses? Please! Any and all advice is welcome! This is my first time on this! Thanks!

tattoo    I'm a tattooed, married to my HS SH James  in lovemama to

toddler boyBradley 2/28/2006      baby girlNatalie 12/22/2009

by on Feb. 20, 2011 at 10:01 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
Barabell
by Barbara on Feb. 20, 2011 at 10:19 PM

When we shopped around for a kindergarten the things we were looking for was a full day kindergarten, test scores, the specialty classes (I wanted a second language and a well rounded education besides just reading, writing, and math), and transportation.

We were not able to tour the schools due to moving shortly before kindergarten started, but I would have done that if I had been able.  Instead, I used the advice of an employee at the district office plus calling around to some charter school office, and I used this website: greatschools.org.

Good luck!  I think the elementary applications here are due this month.

menmy2lilmen
by on Feb. 20, 2011 at 10:24 PM

We could not pick our sons school for Kindergarten. I did pick my sons prek though. I looked for a school that used a curriculum that I liked and was familiar with. I toured the school, meet the teachers and liked it.

justanotherjen
by on Feb. 20, 2011 at 10:34 PM