Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Elementary School Kids Elementary School Kids

Welcome to Elementary School Kids, "Ask the Teacher" post!

Ask anything and we will do our best to give you an honest, informative reply. 

I've been teaching elementary school for 14 years. My master's degree is in reading education and I'm certified in Exceptional Student Education, and ESL. I've taught a variety of grades and more kids than I can count. 

If you'd like to check out the hundreds of questions that have already been asked and answered check the old post here

by on Oct. 27, 2011 at 7:44 PM
Replies (561-569):
maxswolfsuit
by Max on Apr. 27, 2013 at 8:43 PM

Quoting lacyd75:

So i was wondering on your thought of retainment? my daughter is in 2nd grade and i honest don't think she is ready for 3rd grade and neither do her teacher,principal, or guidance counselor. I know there are pros and cons as far as retainment goes. What grounds do you think retainment is the way to go> Thanks!

I think there are many factors so it's hard to say not knowing any details. 

I will say reseach is pretty clear that gains made from retainion are tempory. 3-4 years after repeating most kids are just as far behind as they were before being held back. But for some kids it's exactly what they need. 

MissyB2275
by Member on Apr. 28, 2013 at 12:03 AM
1 mom liked this

Thank you!  I did talk to the teacher and she said she will handle it.  My cousin is a special Ed teacher there and helps with the field trips and she said I was fine..  I'm just not going to let it bother me..not going to deal with the other moms.  Thanks for the input.  Means a lot.

jeda1429
by on Apr. 28, 2013 at 4:57 PM

Do you always follow IEPs?

maxswolfsuit
by Max on Apr. 28, 2013 at 5:06 PM

Quoting jeda1429:

Absolutely. It's federal law.