Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Elementary School Kids Elementary School Kids

Welcome to Elementary School Kids, "Ask the Teacher" post!

Ask anything and we will do our best to give you an honest, informative reply. 

I've been teaching elementary school for 14 years. My master's degree is in reading education and I'm certified in Exceptional Student Education, and ESL. I've taught a variety of grades and more kids than I can count. 

If you'd like to check out the hundreds of questions that have already been asked and answered check the old post here

by on Oct. 27, 2011 at 7:44 PM
Replies (21-30):
aydensmommy0406
by on Oct. 29, 2011 at 10:43 AM

We are using worksheets that the school has provided. I think you are right though on him doing it just to annoy me, he is reading really well most of the time. It is usually words like cat, bat, mat, that he is doing this on. Thanks for the reply.

Quoting maxswolfsuit:

Quoting aydensmommy0406:

My son is 5 and in kindergarten, I am schooling him thru an online charter school. He is doing really good at all his subjects. My problem is that when he sounds out words he does great but once he gets the word he will drop the first sound, Say like in MAT,  he will go M     A     T but then will say  A T. How can I get him to quit doing that? It drives me crazy.

Where is he sounding these words out? On worksheets or activities on a website or in books?

Reading words in isolation (not in sentences) is tricky because if you make an error there's nothing to help the child notice it. If he's making this mistake with flash cards or something like that, I would just correct him and keep working on it. You could him work on finding things that start with certain sounds to emphasize beginning sounds.